Disabled Set-up Configuration in Acer® Veriton
A set-up consists of all the information and the functions that are used by the computer system to run on the operating system. It also saves the various other information, like product information, and standard and advanced CMOS features. Some of the features in the set-up configuration are disabled by the manufacturer.
- Possible reasons for the set-up configuration being disabled
- Tips to resolve the issue
- Benefits of a disabled set-up
Possible reasons for the set-up configuration being disabled
A set-up has information that is required by the computer system to work efficiently. So, some of the set-up configuration details are disabled for the general users. Only the administrator can make changes to the set-up configuration. But not all access for making changes to the set-up configuration is allowed by the manufacturer. It allows making changes only to the basic configuration of your system. The reason behind this is to protect the computer system from any of the malfunction to occur by changing the manufacturer’s setting. Few of the set-up configurations are just read only and cannot be changed, like the PC Health Status that displays only the current status of the PC. If few settings in the set-up configuration are changed by the user, then it may cause the system to break down or shut down. So, to avoid such an error, set-up configuration is disabled in Acer® Veriton® desktop.
Tips to resolve the issue
To make changes to the Acer Veriton ® set-up configuration, you have to log on as an administrator and make changes only to those options that are made available by the manufacturer. For entering the set-up configuration, you have to keep pressing the ‘C’ key during POST (Power On Self Test), which will allow you to access the set-up. Then, you can make changes to the set-up configuration, but not to all the options available on the set-up, as some are read-only features that cannot be changed.
You cannot make any changes to the set-up configuration; hence, the system is protected from malfunctioning. If the set-up configuration is not properly changed, that is if right data is not filled while making changes to the set-up, it will cause the system to hang or there can be system failure. So, it is better that the set-up configuration is accessible only to the administrator, who can make changes to the set-up configuration.